It was that simple.

Armed with his laptop and hundreds of photographs, my cousin Joe sat down by his Grandma’s bedside and watched her come to life for the first time since he first started visiting her in the nursing home.

“What did you do to Grandma? She wants to go home to Yemans Street!” his dad had complained.

I can’t even begin to imagine what it would be like to suddenly become a stranger to someone who had been the center of your universe since you were in diapers.  But I can certainly appreciate how overwhelming it must have felt to suddenly win back that connection.

“Unreal,” he shared. “I flipped the switch to turn on my computer, the photos appeared on the screen, and I turned on Grandma. I flipped the switch again and lost her.”

Connections with people we love are probably the most important resource that helps us make it through to the end of the day. Doesn’t matter. We still let those connections break for a lot of really stupid reasons. Or life breaks those connections for us.

Wouldn’t it be great to flip a switch and get them all back? In a lot of cases, it probably IS just that easy. Sigh!

As with most of life, there’s a PR lesson in this… something we all know, but sometimes forget. The photos that really mean something to our market (not us) are the only ones that will trigger the strong response we are waiting for.

